Hospital Authority Welcomes New Member

Valerie A. Hepburn, Ph.D.The Glynn-Brunswick Memorial Hospital Authority is pleased to announce the appointment of Valerie A. Hepburn, Ph.D. as the newest member of the Hospital Authority. A St. Simons Island resident, she was nominated by the Glynn County Commission.

Hepburn has extensive knowledge of the health care field and is currently serving a one-year appointment with the University of Georgia leading a system-wide initiative to redesign health insurance and employee benefits programs for over 100,000 employees and retirees. She recently completed a 5-year term as the president of the College of Coastal Georgia and, prior to that, spent more than two decades in academic and executive roles specializing in health care policy, research, financing, and regulation.

"Glynn County is fortunate to have one of the outstanding regional health care systems in Georgia, and we must work diligently to protect the important economic and community benefits that our Health System provides," says Hepburn. "Strategic and engaged governance, in partnership with businesses, citizens, and state and local government, will be essential to the long-term success of our local Health System, one of the last remaining publicly-governed systems in Georgia."

Carl Alexander, Hospital Authority chair, is pleased to welcome Hepburn to the board and looks forward to working with her in this capacity. "We are honored to have Valerie join the Authority. Her extensive knowledge and experience, as well as her strong commitment to community service, are valuable assets as we continue to strategize the growth of our Health System to benefit our community."

Hepburn also serves as a board member for the Boys and Girls Club of Southeast Georgia, the Glynn County Board of Health, and the Ty Cobb Educational Foundation. In July 2014, she will assume the role of CEO of the Communities of Coastal Georgia Foundation. She was recognized as one of four 2011 Power Women by Georgia Trend Magazine.

Hepburn replaces Mark A. Bedner, who chose not to seek reappointment. Mitchell T. Jones, M.D., and Vance Hughes were reappointed to the Authority. Authority members also include Carl Alexander, chair; Walter C. McNeely, secretary; Michael D. Hodges, treasurer; Joanne M. Matukaitis, MSN, R.N., FABC, FAACVPR, Robert Turner, and M.H. "Woody" Woodside.

The Hospital Authority is made up of nine members—the City Commission nominates four, the County Commission nominates four =and one is a joint city/county nominee. Authority members are then appointed by the sitting members. Each of these members volunteers his or her time to oversee the not-for-profit Health System.